What I mean by “hefty to healthy” – Don’t misunderstand

Some may see the name of my blog and think I mean only thin is healthy.  WRONG.  I was what would be considered a “thick” girl and that is when I looked my best.  I was healthy, active all the time, but I wasn’t ‘thin’ or ‘skinny’ at the time.  When I say hefty I mean unhealthy and out of shape.  Unhealthy and out of shape and don’t give a rats ass about it, more to the point.  I don’t mean a little out of shape or a little overweight, if your insides are healthy that is what matters.  I know people who are morbidly obese and they always say they will start a diet or start working out next month.  Health problems keep mounting, but nothing is being done.  That is what I consider hefty.  When you just don’t give a crap about the condition of your health because you’re not dead yet and you don’t have a major health concern yet.

I don’t care if you wear a ‘double digit’ size so long as your insides are healthy.  Now about that, metabolism is part of your insides.  One absolutely has to keep their metabolism healthy or everything else is all for not.  When I started on this journey I had to stick to a liquid diet for a week! It was so difficult, but I found after day 2 I was less and less hungry.  As I started eating, I wasn’t all that hungry so I was eating less than 1,000 calories per day and I was easily burning over 2,000 so the weight should have been falling off right? WRONG!!!  The body thinks you’re starving so everything you eat is saved and stored because the body has no idea when you are going to eat again. The metabolism goes to pot and you slowly lose weight.  So if your doctor says you should eat 1,200 to 1,500 calories per day PLEASE find a way to hit those calories.  You can still have the 1,000+ calorie deficit each day to help lose weight but if you don’t feed your body your diet is all for not.

It’s been a while since I posted so I will share a couple of my favorite recipes the past couple of weeks.   The one I made at home was shrimp stir fry.  I feel like I posted about my shrimp stir fry already but I didn’t have a picture to post with it, and I still don’t because my phone has been stupid and I cannot access my gallery for pictures.  As soon as I can, I will post a picture. It looked great!  So many colors, which I have been told is also a sign of a good meal.

The second piece I enjoyed was a flank steak wrap:

The low carb tortilla of your choice.  I like the spinach tortillas personally.

1/2 cup flank steak grilled and cut fajita style

Squeeze the juice of 1/4 of a lemon or 1/2 of a lime on the meat (or both if you like)

3/4 cup roasted red and green peppers with 1 to 2 tablespoons corn roasted with them

Sprinkle with low-fat cheese

Roll up the tortilla and done!

I had a little salsa with mine, it was very good.

Enjoy

 

 

Leave a Reply

